Meet the 2017 Nonprofit Excellence Awards Selection Committee

On December 1st, three nonprofits from among 10 semifinalists will find out which prize - Gold, Silver or Bronze - they've won in the 2017 New York Community Trust Nonprofit Excellence Awards. The program's expert 30-member Selection Committee is responsible for making the decision and, before that, for choosing the semifinalists and finalists from this year's pool of 45 applicant organizations.

In the six months leading up to the Awards Presentation, Committee members have reviewed and scored the applicants. During this three-step judging process, they provide detailed feedback to the organizations about their management strengths and weaknesses. Individually, Committee members volunteer 80 to 100 hours a year to this process. We look for experts with deep and broad knowledge about the program’s guiding Eight Key Areas of Nonprofit Excellence. They also have experience running nonprofits, supporting or funding nonprofits, and consulting with or advising nonprofits on their management practices. As such, the members of the Committee are nonprofit leaders (including past winners), consultants, capacity builders, and funders.

Over the years, the Awards program has benefited tremendously from the experience and wisdom in selecting and honoring the program’s 32 winners. Now chaired by Stephanie Thomas, President of Stetwin Consulting and NPCC Board Member, the Committee was led in past years by Diana Davenport, VP of Administration at The Commonwealth Fund, Hildy Simmons, noted philanthropic advisor, and Darren Walker, President of Ford Foundation.

Asked why they rejoined the Committee, one member said, “Every year I've served on the committee I have had new insights and takeaways from the organizations that participate and that's what motivates me to keep going.” Selection Committee members have previously noted that serving provides knowledge of best practices in management areas outside their own and knowledge of trends in the nonprofit sector.

So, who are the 30 individuals who make up the 2017 Selection Committee? Click here for the complete list, and check out the infographic below: